The Centre of @tension  “Six degrees of Integration”.

Radio

sharp gf666

 

Solar Radio – The Ruth Fisher Notes & Tones show = Every Wednesday night 10pm to midnight. http://www.solarradio.com/Notes & Tones – Music and special interviews show featuring the finest musicians from across the broad spectrum of jazz.

BBC Jazz on 3 =  http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b006tt0y  Ground-breaking weekly Monday night programme with live studio sessions,gigs and Interviews.

 

Resonance fm   = http://resonancefm.com/   Resonance104.4fm is the world’s first radio art station, established by London Musicians’ Collective. It started broadcasting on May 1st 2002. Its brief? To provide a radical alternative to the universal formulae of mainstream broadcasting. Resonance 104.4 fm features programmes made by musicians, artists and critics who represent the diversity of London’s arts scenes, with regular weekly contributions from nearly two hundred musicians, artists, thinkers, critics, activists and instigators; plus numerous unique broadcasts by artists on the weekday “Clear Spot”.

FreeJazzArt2 radio = http://www.ustream.tv/channel/freejazzart-2#utm_campaign=www.facebook.com&utm_source=9590132&utm_medium=social

Presented by Legendary free jazz musician Alan Silva this e blog covers interesting releases, especially in the areas of free and mainstream jazz as well as contemporary classical and avant garde music. The emphasis will for the most part be on smaller labels. Both established musicians and lesser known…

++++++++++++++++++
Artists

Orphy Robinson  http://orphyrobinson.co.uk/

Pat Thomas http://www.efi.group.shef.ac.uk/mthomas.html

Sacred music,Sacred Spaces http://www.chaserproductions.com/

The Art Ensemble of Chicago http://www.artensembleofchicago.com/

Anthony Braxton Composer/Author/Musician  http://tricentricfoundation.org/

Henry Threadgill = Composer and leader. http://pirecordings.com/artist/Henry_Threadgill

George Lewis = Composer/Author and Trombonist http://www.scaruffi.com/jazz/lewis.html

Wadada Leo Smith = Trumpet/Composer http://www.wadadaleosmith.com/

Butch Morris Cornet/Composer + Conductor http://www.conduction.us/

Corey Mwamba = http://www.coreymwamba.co.uk/ Fellow UK Vibist & colleague

Shabaka Huthings = http://www.shabakahutchings.com/ Young Clarinetist.Saxophonist

Steve Coleman Saxophonist/Composer  M-BASE: Steve Coleman

Alex Hawkins http://www.alexanderhawkins.com/  Composer/Pianist I have recorded 2 albums

Steve Lawson = http://www.stevelawson.net/ Inspirational Bassist and Tech wiz.

Cleveland Watkiss  Great vocalist and colleague, clevelandwatkiss.net

Vijay Iyer = http://www.vijay-iyer.com/

Robert Mitchell  Pioneering Pianist http://www.robertmitchellmusic.com/

Byron Wallen = http://www.byronwallen.co.uk/    

Mark Saunders First call Improv Drummer on the UK scene  http://www.marksanders.me.uk/

Evan Parker Saxophonist stalwart and figurehead of UK Improv     http://www.evanparker.com/

Julian Joseph An inspirational pianist/Broadcaster/Composer  www.julianjoseph.com 

Han Bennink The dutch drummer reigns supreme on the European Free scene http://www.hanbennink.com/

Tony KofiA fantastic saxophone player myspace.com/tonykofi

Yusef LateefA living legend –  www.yuseflateef.com

Randy Weston Pianist/composer inspired by the African Diaspora www.randyweston.info

Sunra Arkestra the pioneers http://www.elrarecords.com/

John Butcher Pioneering Saxophonist http://www.johnbutcher.org.uk/

Nigel Kennedy http://www.nigelkennedyonline.com/

Gregory Porter http://www.gregoryporter.com/

Ntshuks Bonga http://www.ntshuksbonga.com/

Clifford Allen Blog http://cliffordallen.blogspot.co.uk/

Otto Fischer http://www.myspace.com/ottofischer

Qwati http://www.myspace.com/qwati

London Improvisors Orchestra http://www.myspace.com/londonimprovisersorchestra

Dominic Lash http://www.dominiclash.co.uk/

Brandon Ross http://www.myspace.com/brmuse

Harriet Tubman band http://www.sunnysiderecords.com/artist.php?id=418

Corey Wilkes http://www.coreywilkes.com/

Chico Freeman http://v2.chicofreeman.com/

Gail Brand lyrical Trombonist http://www.gailbrand.com/

Ravi Coltrane – http://ravicoltrane.com/

Roger Turner UK Free Improv Drummer http://www.roger-turner.com/

Rhodri Davies Leading Harp player  http://www.rhodridavies.com/

 

++++++++++++++++++++

 

Organisations

 

The Warriors International = http://thejazzwarriors.com/

Sound & Music   http://www.soundandmusic.org/
 
http://www.gillespetersonworldwide.com/

Tzadik.com           http://www.tzadik.com/

Cuneiform Records     http://www.cuneiformrecords.com/

Adam Rudolph’s Meta Records   http://www.metarecords.com/

Bill Dixon Inc

AACM       http://aacmchicago.org/

European Free Improvisers Homepage    http://www.efi.group.shef.ac.uk/

ESTWeb Index

M-BASE: Steve Coleman

The Jazz Discography by Tom Lord

Emanem Reords http://www.emanemdisc.com/

Cognizance online portal for musicians events and articles http://www.coreymwamba.co.uk/cogniz/

+++++++++++++++++++++++++

Venues

Berlin venues           http://www.echtzeitmusik.de/index.php

 

++++++++++++++++

Online Magazines

etude

Ancient to future/Straight no Chaser = The leaders for all things inside and outside the music, constantly with the finger on the pulse.Led by the legendary Cat in the Hat Paul Bradshaw http://ancienttofuture.wordpress.com/

Jazz Reloaded – http://www.jazzreloaded.com/

All about Jazz online magazine = http://www.allaboutjazz.com/

Cadence magazine http://www.cadencejazzmagazine.com/

Jazzwise – http://www.jazzwisemagazine.com/

Londonjazz.Blogspot  – http://londonjazz.blogspot.co.uk/

The Weekly World alternative views to mainstream news with cultural section and events http://theweeklyworld.com/

+++++++++++

orphy-just-marimbula-and-marimba-on-stage.jpg
Equipment

The Superlative Xylosynth     http://www.wernick.net/

Looperlative a loopers paradise http://looperlativeaudio.com/

Some interesting instruments for a new beginning http://www.oddmusic.com/gallery/om21550.html

Accurately measure your pitch perception abilities. Neuroscience-Based Music Tests:  http://bit.l/14eITA6

Museum of Soviet synthesizers.  http://bit.ly/18bHtbq

Site with information about more than 18000 different guitar effects Guitar Effects Database: http://bit.ly/I6c5iF

J.S.Bach Well Tempered Clavier On-Line: http://bit.ly/1bXE1A3
Interactive analyses of Bach fugues with scores synchronized with digital sound and commentary.

Internet Music Theory Database: http://bit.ly/1aCuoXc
Hundreds of supplemental examples in various formats (mp3, pdf, swf) for teaching tonal music theory

WolframTones:  http://bit.ly/1cfpBuV
WolframTones is based on a core discovery of Stephen Wolfram’s A New Kind of Science: that in the computational universe even extremely simple rules or programs can give behavior of great complexity. Wolfram first found evidence of this surprising fact in his experiments in the early 1980s on systems known as one-dimensional cellular automata (now often called Wolfram automata). WolframTones is based on these very same types of systems.

Fractal Music Composition Software :http://bit.ly/1aVw6hX
ToolsFractMus has a set of tools to help you during the compositional process as well as in the editing part of an already created composition. Please refer to FractMus’ helpfile for an in-depth description of each tool.

Project C-90 Ultimate Cassette Audio Tape Guide: http://bit.ly/1aVwBsl
Philips – the Dutch electronics company, invented and released the first audio compact-cassette in 1962. Previous to this time, the only way of recording voices or music was by reel-to-reel tape recorders. The cassette system came about as a way of increasing portability and not involving manual threading of sensitive and brittle tape. It needed too to be much more portable than vinyl records. Philips used high-quality 4mm polyester tape produced by BASF. Recording and playback was at a speed of 4,75cm/second. The following year, sales began in the US by the Norelco Carry-Corder dictation machine that used the new cassette tape. In the early years consumer demands for blank tape was totally unanticipated by Philips as the format was never really designed for personal home recording.

Avidemux – Open Source Video Editor: http://bit.ly/1g6CZCB
Avidemux is available for Linux, BSD, Mac OS X and Microsoft Windows under the GNU GPL license. The program was written from scratch by Mean, but code from other people and projects has been used as well. Patches, translations and even bug reports are always welcome.

MarGrid: http://bit.ly/17IgGB1
A music collection visualization interface. It utilizes feature extraction and a self-organized map to map each song in a collection to a square in a grid of cells.

Synchronous Objects – Dance & Choreography Site With Free Software Tools: http://bit.ly/1i664mf

60-minute Portrait of Sun Ra and the Arkestra Filmed in 1978 and 1980: http://bit.ly/1bQfQ39

Mixere is a free, open-source application for mixing audio files.  http://mixere.sourceforge.net/index.html

MidiSwing is a little application to create music. It can read and edit midi files                                                                                       http://www.les-stooges.org/pascal/midiswing/index.php?la=en&id=Home

Aviary Myna: The best web-based audio editor yet:  http://downloadsquad.switched.com/2009/09/16/aviary-myna-the-best-web-based-audio-editor-yet/

Sonant Live is a minimalistic music synth and editor that runs in your browser. It has its roots in the demo scene, and was originally a Windows native tool (Sonant by Jake Taylor, aka Ferris / Youth Uprising) for creating songs for 4K demos (where neither the song data nor the music player code can be larger than a copule of thousand bytes at most). http://sonantlive.bitsnbites.eu/

Audio and sample based editing software  http://psycle.pastnotecut.org/portal.php

Midi and audio editor software http://frinika.appspot.com/

Interesting photo images site http://taggalaxy.de/

A collection of Digital instruments. http://www.carladiana.com/repercussion/

Loop tracks.  http://www.looptracks.net/

An online musical keyboard with 25 professional sound banks.
Make your own hip hop, techno, trance, reggae, rock, disco or even jazz or samba. And do it live! No tricks: you start the samples and the loops. Learn all about timing, “building” a song and creating a dance track. http://worteldrie.com/WD-1/index.html

Java interface to the Internet Synthesizer! http://www.jhhl.net/WFMU-jhhl/sinth_java.html

Composer tool  http://composertools.com/Tools/matrix/MatrixCalc.html

Mirek’s Java Cellebration (MJCell) is a Java applet that allows playing 300+ Cellular Automata rules and 1400+ patterns. http://psoup.math.wisc.edu/mcell/mjcell/mjcell.html

Blue is a music composition environment for Csound, written in Java, and available for use on Windows, Mac OSX, and Linux. It allows doing everything one can do in Csound as well as builds on top of it to offer the following features: http://blue.kunstmusik.com/

BPoeM is a 4 track audio sequencer built in Flash.  http://jlapotre.free.fr/bpoem/bpoem.html

The distinction between music and noise is mathematical form. http://physics.info/music/

The Interactive Swarm Orchestra (ISO) project explores the employment of flocking algorithms to control sound synthesis and sound spatialiation. http://swarms.cc/about/project/

Freeware VST for Windows…Ring thing is a multi-flavour ring modulator, with frequency and mix level controlled by an XY pad and each axis modulated by it’s own tempo-sync LFO. The modulation in both axes is shown graphically on the XY pad.            http://www.delamancha.co.uk/ring_thing.htm

The Tonal Centre is an interactive site for music composers and theorists which explains and demonstrates some of the key concepts of tonality; including chords, scales, cadences, and modulation. Most of the musical examples are illustrated with a midi file – just click on the relevant link to hear it. http://www.tonalcentre.org/

Database of all the possible 2048 musical scales in 12 note equal temperament and other alternatives in meantone tunings
You can download the tuning codes to use with Logic Pro, CuBase, Cameleon, Melodyne etc. http://www.harmonics.com/scales/

Sonantometry, or the algebra of tonal functions, updates and expands possibilities of the functional analysis and synthesis of music.http://sonantometry.blogspot.com/

Studio Factory. Windows but not tested on Win 7 http://www.syntiac.com/studiofactory.html

Synth  for VST/Win 32,Win 64,non SSE2, Mac OS X http://www.artovaarala.com/

Chord Functions for Musical Analysis…http://utminers.utep.edu/charlesl/chords.html

Welcome to Temper, a MIDI+Audio sequencer with an emphasis on MIDI. Temper provides a straight-forward user interface that quickly guides you into advanced group operations and unique functionality such as decor and perform time, all tied together with an underlying shape concept for describing data transformation. Easily integrate Temper with your other software via basic drag-and-drop behaviour, more advanced sync functionality, or seamlessly as a VST.                                                                           http://www.angryredplanet.com/temper/index.html

++++++++++++

Artists and Photographers

Pete Williams World Class photographer www.petewilliamsphotography.net